Day 305: Toesies and Combs

WARNING – This post contains a picture of feet (because I know some people are really against feet).

Before I say anything else, I have to say, HAPPY 10 MONTHS, LITTLE J! (Have I really been a mom for that long??)

Now…

This week has been difficult.  Spring break was last week, and KyBug was spending time with her grandmother, so I got the week off from school and work.  Instead of taking advantage of that, however, I was lazy.  I slept in as much as Little J would let me, I watched too much TV, I lounged, I was wholly unproductive.  It was a wonderful break.

But then this week arrived with chapter questions, two quizzes, two papers, a chat, a lab, a discussion board and a midterm to do.  Oops.

Add to that, crappy weather and a serious case of missing the boy, and I’ve been blah.

I have managed to do all my assignments on time, which is amazing even on my best week, and got enough time to bake green velvet cupcakes with cream cheese frosting, all from scratch.  The laundry pile is smaller, the dishes are done, and we actually have something to eat in the house.  All in all, it’s been a productive week.

To top it all off, I have gorgeously-pedicured, ready-for-spring toes!  I got my second pedicure ever, and I’m seriously addicted.  I used to be a stickler about keeping my toes painted and my feet pampered, but since I had Little J, I just haven’t had the time or the energy.  J’s mom gave me a Spa Finder gift card when Little J was born, and when I looked up where I could use it, my mother’s favorite spa popped up.  Also the site of my only other pedicure.  When I discovered I’d kept the woman’s card who’d done my first pedicure, I was thrilled.

And it only took me nine and a half months to make an appointment.  🙂  But it was totally worth the wait!  Don’t you think?

This week the mailman has failed me as well.  The mail is my absolute favorite part of the day.  Sometimes because I buy myself presents from Etsy (none of which I can afford), and sometimes because I know I have a Netflix movie coming.  This week, nothing.  Until today!  Today my hair combs from whichgoose arrived.  Three of them.  A definite splurge that was definitely worth it.

I discovered whichgoose on Etsy awhile ago but never bought anything until my friend Chels and I decided to go to the midnight premiere of New Moon (Yeah, we’re TwiMoms.  She’s even making a special trip down here to see Eclipse with me in June!)  In honor of that, I decided to order the new moon comb.

Tell me, could you have resisted?

Since then I’ve ordered five more, including my three from today, and won one through a giveaway on her blog.  Needless to say, I’m obsessed.

I’ve never been into fashion and wouldn’t even begin to describe myself as having any sort of fashion sense, so it’s been very difficult for me over the years to decide on my personal “style”.  I was a tomboy when I was young, when through a punk phase in high school that I truly enjoyed, and have floated through no man’s land since.  After I had Little J, I decided I needed to settle into a signature style, or my son was going to be doomed to repeat my scatterbrained fashion (although J has a very good sense of fashion – most of the time – and probably would have fixed that quick).

Anyhow.

I’ve discovered that I love vintage looks, not necessarily actual vintage clothes but the modern clothes with a vintage feel.  Something, for example, that would go perfectly with my hair combs.  🙂  So that’s where I’m heading.  I can’t say I’ve gotten far, but I feel much better having a point of reference when I start spring cleaning my closet.

Wanna see what my new combs look like?

This is a walk in the clouds.  It’s a bridal comb, but it was too elegant to pass up!

This is daughters of the air.  Again, it’s supposed to be a bridal comb, but I think it would be perfect for a trip to the beach.  Well, not the actual beach but to the boardwalk or maybe to Southport.

And finally, this is shortcake.  Of the strawberry variety.  🙂

See why I’m slowly building an epic collection?  They’re gorgeous.

Now I’m off to finish my midterm and one of my papers.  And then perhaps watch the NCIS episodes that came from Netflix today.  Or read some more of The Lucky One. KyBug’s mom, B, got it for me to say thanks for watching KyBug.  Isn’t that sweet?  I was too excited.

But really.  I’m going now…

About Nicole

My job titles include Mommy of (Almost) Two, Lifelong Learner and Stampin' Up! Demo Extraordinaire. My hobbies include papercrafting, sewing, geocaching, letterboxing and going on adventures. I currently live on NBK-Bangor in Washington State, and it's definitely a life experience!
This entry was posted in Style Your Space. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

