Day 373: First Birthday and Selection, Round 2

My little man turned one.  It was bittersweet.  I was so excited for him (because birthdays are a big deal after all!), but it made me sad to see how fast this year has gone and that J couldn’t be here.  The party is this Saturday, and I’m more than ready for some cake and pool time.  🙂

Round 2 of orders began.  No overseas billets we wanted to consider, so if J gets selected this time, we’ll end up in one of two places in Washington State or one of three places in Virginia.  I have my fingers crossed for Washington State because it would be a big change (aka big adventure), and we’d get to make a cross-country trip out there.  My family took a month-long cross-country trip way back, and I loved it.  I’ve been wanting to do one following I-40 (which also follows a good part of the old Route 66) from one end – where I live now – to the other in Barstow, CA.  Not to mention there’s a university in Washington completely dedicated to natural medicine.  I HAVE to go there.

I’d also love to be in Williamsburg, VA.  For the historic parts and for Busch Gardens.  😀  Plus they have a Carter’s outfit, and I have a huge crush on Carter’s.  We’d still be relatively close to the coast and not too far from family.  Norfolk and VA Beach are my last choices, mainly because J’s already been stationed in Norfolk, and I want him to be able to go somewhere new, but even those have their appeal.  I know my way around VA Beach from visiting, and Norfolk has a lot of interesting stuff that I never got the chance to do when we were up to see J before.  It would be nice to have the opportunity to do those.

J says he should find out on June 5th (tentatively), so now it’s just hurry up and wait.  Again.

LOST ended on Sunday, and I was surprisingly satisfied with the ending.  Of course they didn’t answer every question, but I felt like most of them were answered, and I wasn’t left, going, “Wait, WHAT?” as I always was before.  Since that’s over, and the rest of my shows are on done for the season, I’ve been watching Bones on Netflix.  I’m officially obsessed.  SUCH a good show.

More art journal pages coming soon.  Perhaps tomorrow.  🙂

Oh!  And there are some awesome giveaways going on on some of the blogs I follow.  I posted them in my sidebar, but here at more details.

Big Thanks Giveaway: Really simple.  Just become a follower, choose one or two of the items on her page you would like to win, leave a comment, and you’re entered!  I especially love the necklace.

I go by Katie’s Giveaway: Such cute stuff!  There’s a Sunprint kit & refill pages, mints, a woodgrain pocket mirror, 3 letterpress bookmarks and 2 handmade matchbook notepads.  Again, just become a follower, and leave a comment.

32 Favorite Things: The list of things you can win is pretty much endless.  Lots of handmade goodies, which are my favorite, and it’s another comment and win giveaway – also my favorite.  You can get extra entries by blogging, tweeting and emailing her secret phrases and – best of all – donating to the walk she’s doing for MS.  Each dollar is an extra entry.  So you can even be charitable in your entering!

About Nicole

My job titles include Mommy of (Almost) Two, Lifelong Learner and Stampin' Up! Demo Extraordinaire. My hobbies include papercrafting, sewing, geocaching, letterboxing and going on adventures. I currently live on NBK-Bangor in Washington State, and it's definitely a life experience!
This entry was posted in Style Your Space. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

