Day 415: Catching Up and Getting to Know You

I’ve fallen off the blogging bandwagon.  Well, more like fell off, rolled down a ravine and missed the entire caravan.  But it can’t be helped.

Our July 4th weekend was very uneventful.  I worked the morning of the 4th, and it just seemed like a lot of effort to fight the crowds after Little J’s bedtime by myself to watch the fireworks.  So we stayed home, lounged and cooked.

I have never baked/cooked more in my life than I have in the past few days.  The produce from our weekly CSA boxes was getting out of hand, so I found some recipes and went to town.  I now have:

  • two dozen banana-blueberry muffins
  • two loaves of zucchini bread
  • a dozen ears of frozen corn (I couldn’t really find any good corn recipes)
  • a large bowl of refrigerator pickles
  • a peach-blueberry pie
  • homemade salsa

I also cooked two summer squashes and the other zucchini for dinner tonight and baked the acorn squash with some butter and brown sugar.  SO good.  We tried canary melon for the first time.  That was really good, too.  There are two sprite melons in the fridge waiting for testing, too, but I’m looking for melon recipes.  I might just toss it in with the canary melon, our watermelon and some of the leftover blueberries for a fruit salad.  Or freeze it for smoothies.  Does melon freeze well?

The rest of the weekend consisted of reading on the back porch for as long as the ants would leave me alone.  I’m reading a book on military wife-ery called Standing By.  It’s absolutely amazing.  The author goes through her story but also throws in military trivia along the way.  Her husband is a Navy aviator, and they live (at the time of the book) in Anacortes while her husband is stationed at NAS Whidbey Island.  It’s made me cry…a lot, but it’s exactly what I’ve been looking for.  Something to give me an idea of what I’m in for.  And the fact that they’re in Washington state (though quite a bit further north from Bremerton) makes it even better.

One thing I read today that I loved was this:

And there was no way to explain that Scott made it worthwhile even though he was rarely around.  All marriages move from the general to the particular, and this was our particular, eccentric truth, the love child of circumstance and compromise.  For most of that tour we lived separate lives, tethered together only emotionally.  That “only” was everything.  It’s not that we transcended any need for physical proximity, but…I knew that Scott was out there somewhere thinking of me too and that his dreams of our reunion and our future mirrored mine.  His gratitude for my efforts to support him and the deep connection between us that grew stronger throughout our long separation carried me through.

So sweet!  And it’s nice to see a positive take on deployment since I personally can find nothing positive about it.  🙂

Anyhow, since I missed these on Sunday…

Getting to know YOU

1. What do you look forward to the most on the 4th of July? Fireworks.  Even though we didn’t go this year.

2. Are you a hugger? Only with people I know really well.

3. What is your favorite BBQ’d food? I’m not a huge barbeque fan.  Which is pretty much a sin here in North Carolina.  I don’t like sweet tea either.

4. Do you like to watch parades? I love parades!

5. Who has stinkier farts..boys or girls? I think it’s probably a tie.

6. Vampires or Werewolves? Most of the time, vampires.  BUT I’m all for Team Jacob.

source

Yummy…

7. Do you read your horoscope? Yep!  I get it sent to my cell phone as a text.

8. What is your favorite flavor of ice cream? Ben & Jerry’s Dublin Mudslide…mmm…


source

About Nicole

My job titles include Mommy of (Almost) Two, Lifelong Learner and Stampin' Up! Demo Extraordinaire. My hobbies include papercrafting, sewing, geocaching, letterboxing and going on adventures. I currently live on NBK-Bangor in Washington State, and it's definitely a life experience!
This entry was posted in Style Your Space. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

