Day 421: 30-Day Shred Challenge and The Big Chop

A few weeks ago I received Jillian Michaels: 30-Day Shred from Netflix.  I was super-excited.  Then I did the first workout, and I almost died.  I promised myself I would keep up with it, but days passed, and I couldn’t find the motivation to start again.  I’m a terrible self-motivator.  When my cousin moved in, we agreed to get up early and do it together each morning.  That hasn’t happened either.  Last Friday we saw the DVD in Wal*Mart for $9 and agreed it would be good motivation to spend the money.  Plus, I was feeling guilty for keeping the Netflix when I wasn’t even using it.

Today, as fate would have it, I found this.

Jamie of Inspired Mess is starting the 30-Day Shred on July 15th and is challenging anyone who wants to join her, to do so.  So of course I joined in.  This, I think, is the greatest motivation.  A challenge and a support group rolled into one.

I also noticed today (as I was catching up on the 800+ unread blog entries in my Google reader…!!!!) that the crafty ladies that I [look up to, admire, want to be, etc.] are not as much older than me as I believe them to be.  Gussy just turned twenty-five.  I’ll be twenty-five in a little over a month [EEK!].  This epiphany, along with the sudden strong urge to craft alllll the time, is making me extremely restless.  I want to do what they do.  I want to make a living being crafty.  Now.  Where to start…

I think I need to start with myself. Having your own business, however small, is a daunting task, and I’m in desperate need of a mommy makeover regardless.  This has also been a recent [okay, perhaps, not-so-recent] epiphany.  Last week I made a first step that I’ve been talking about doing for a long time.  A haircut.  I haven’t had my hair professionally cut since I got pregnant, which I’m embarrassed to say was almost two years ago.  So my hair was a little out of control and a LOT longer than I originally thought.

A few hours and a lot of cutting later…

Ahh, so much better, especially in the heat of summer.  I’m thinking after my mommy makeover, I’m going to give Rhodie a makeover.  The duct-taped, falling-in ceiling is pretty embarrassing, and that’s just the beginning.  All cosmetics aside, though, she’s the best car in the world.  In case you were curious. 🙂

My next step is getting in shape.  I’m happily back at my pre-pregnancy weight, but I’m very much out-of-shape, so Jamie’s 30-Day Shred Challenge coincides quite nicely.  I’m thinking after that, perhaps I’ll try to Couch-to-5K Challenge everyone’s been talking about lately.  We’ll see…

About Nicole

My job titles include Mommy of (Almost) Two, Lifelong Learner and Stampin' Up! Demo Extraordinaire. My hobbies include papercrafting, sewing, geocaching, letterboxing and going on adventures. I currently live on NBK-Bangor in Washington State, and it's definitely a life experience!
This entry was posted in Style Your Space. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 421: 30-Day Shred Challenge and The Big Chop

  1. What a great post! Welcome! I’m sooo excited about starting because so many people have joined us! There’s strength in numbers. We’re gonna do this!!!! Maybe not so excited about Jillian kicking our butts but I’m excited about the group joining me. 🙂
    Happy day to you!

  2. Deanne says:

    wow now thats what i call a haircut 🙂 great choice 🙂

  3. Alice says:

    Your hair looks great! It must feel so light now!

Leave a Reply

