Day 578: Giving Back

Christmas is in eight days.  Are you ready?

I’m most definitely not.  As far as gifts go, I’m set, but as far as everything else, not so much.  Our house is decidedly devoid of Christmas spirit.  I just have it in my head that we aren’t celebrating Christmas until our holi-party on Valentine’s Day, so I haven’t put in the effort.  Fortunately both my parents’ and J’s parents’ houses are bursting with holiday cheer, so Little J has definitely gotten his fair share of stealing Christmas ornaments and “ooh”ing over Christmas lights.

One Christmasy thing I have noticed is that gifts that give back have been especially prevalent this year, and I love it.  Sweet Harper has been running a feature of gifts that give back and other ways to be charitable, and today she featured a movement called Hot Cocoa for Water.  It’s on the idea of a lemonade stand except with hot cocoa, and the proceeds are donated to charity: water.

Long story short, I found myself watching a charity: water ad (with Jennifer Connolly in it!), which read at the end “Buy a pair of the new water shoe designed by charity: water & TOMS”.  TOMS is something else I’ve discovered via blogging.  If you don’t know, TOMS is a shoe company that for every pair of their shoes purchased, donates a pair to children in need.  So I clicked, and sure enough I came across these:

Shoes that help build a well, donate a pair of shoes AND help me learn geography?  Yes, please!  Unfortunately when I tried to click on them to see the price, they were unavailable.  Upon further hunting, however, I did find these.

Hello, earthy, crunchy cuteness!  And they help support the Charlize Theron Africa Outreach Project (Charlize Theron has her own charity?  Who knew.).  I’m going to have to buy myself a pair sometime in the near future.

And on a completely different, semi-random note, I have to say the best celebrity/charity pair-up is this one:

Leo and tigers.  Two of my favorite things.  😀

About Nicole

My job titles include Mommy of (Almost) Two, Lifelong Learner and Stampin' Up! Demo Extraordinaire. My hobbies include papercrafting, sewing, geocaching, letterboxing and going on adventures. I currently live on NBK-Bangor in Washington State, and it's definitely a life experience!
This entry was posted in Style Your Space. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 578: Giving Back

  1. Hi there! Thanks so much for posting about my ornaments & visiting my shop! I randomly came across your blog (small internet world)!

    Anyhow, I love, love TOMS shoes. I got a pair for xmas last year & a new pair this year – they are very comfortable, well made, & hold up really well! They definitely feel like a sneaker but such a cute design! I highly recommend them, plus of course it’s awesome they donate shoes to those in need.

    Happy New Year!

    Jodie

    • Nicole says:

      Thanks, Jodie!

      I’m definitely putting TOMS on my list of “must-haves”! 🙂

      I love your shop, and I’m so excited about the yeti ornaments!

      Happy New Year!

      Nicole

Leave a Reply

