Day 595: Hypnotherapy

I know I’m making a lot of plans for someone who admits to having trouble following through, so if you’re wondering why exactly I think this time will be different, I’ll tell you! 🙂

Sometime earlier this year, I discovered Kym Tolson’s Etsy shop Hypnotransformations.  I’m always up for an alternative to medication, and I’ve always been interested in hypnosis and hypnotherapy.  When I started working with Stampin’ Up!, my one concern was presenting at my workshops.  Public speaking of any kind has always been my downfall.  I was extremely shy when I was little, and even though I’ve gotten a lot better with it, I’m still really socially awkward, and no one would call me a salesperson.

A few weeks before my first workshop, J and I talked again about Kym’s shop, and he suggested I get a few of her mp3’s and see what I thought.  I chose Overcoming Social Phobia and Sales Success for my workshop and then Exercise More (because I’m a huge fail at that) and Get Organized (because I’m obviously a huge fail at that as well).

I listened to the Overcoming Social Phobia mp3 each night and the Sale Success mp3 each morning for two weeks before my workshop.  Before the workshop I was anxious about presenting, about making sales and mostly about everyone having a good time.  While I wasn’t AS anxious as usual, I was still worried that I was going to be the same stumbling, mumbling person I’d always been.

I was honestly stunned when a few minutes into my presentation of the products, I found myself calm, collected and best of all – intelligible ( 😀 ).  I didn’t stutter and stumble over my words, I made eye contact, and I was loud enough to be heard by the entire little group listening.  I wasn’t thrown off by questions, even the ones I didn’t know the answers to.  AND I made a few sales!

In the past few weeks I’ve begun listening to the Get Organized mp3, and while I don’t have a significant event to compare my progress to, I have noticed subtle changes in my routine.  I make to-do lists, I have put together a “life binder” I found on feed the soil, and I have managed not only to plan our entire road trip in detail but also to keep all the materials together and in one binder, so when I need information or to add an idea, I know exactly where to go.  For me, this is amazing, and I really think I owe it to Kym’s mp3’s.

So, to conclude my rambling, check out her shop.  I plan to go back – a LOT!  Especially when I go back to school ’cause I’m gonna need tons of help getting back into the academic routine.  Eek!  I’ve started to listen to the Exercise More mp3 (New year = resolutions, right?), so I’ll let you know in a few weeks if I’m actually exercising.

About Nicole

My job titles include Mommy of (Almost) Two, Lifelong Learner and Stampin' Up! Demo Extraordinaire. My hobbies include papercrafting, sewing, geocaching, letterboxing and going on adventures. I currently live on NBK-Bangor in Washington State, and it's definitely a life experience!
This entry was posted in Style Your Space. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

