Day 642: Road Trip – California to Washington

We’re here!!!  But before I get to that, another long, picture-heavy post.

Have you ever heard the phrase, “I left my heart in San Francisco”?

I. totally. get it.

I wasn’t prepared for the hills in the least – big DUH! on my part.  We started off in Golden Gate Park and…well…never left. 😀  The good thing is it gives me an excuse to go back, which is definitely going to happen.

We started out in de Young, which is an art museum.  There were a TON of cool pieces, but we only got to go around the first floor because by the time we got to the end of that, we were hungry.

So we walked across the Music Concourse, which was full of artists, musical people (Of course!) and people just generally enjoying the sunshine and gorgeous weather.

There we found the California Academy of Sciences (which is where we were headed when we “found” de Young).  It was a-mazing!  It was also packed – HA!  We went through the aquarium and the rainforest and ate an amazing lunch at the café.

One of my favorite parts was the Living Roof.  There were all sorts of plants and grasses up there, and the circular windows just made it look alien.

My other favorite part was this.  Not the sentiment obviously – ICK! – but the idea behind the whole exhibit.  It was all about teaching museum visitors about their impact on the environment and how to improve it.

On our way out of town (literally) we stopped at the Golden Gate Bridge viewing area.  It was also uber-packed. 🙂  I guess I’m not the only one in love with San Fran!  It was gorgeous.  You wouldn’t think a bridge would be, but I was very impressed.

Our parting shot was of San Francisco over our shoulders and a rainbow bridge.  😀  Have I mentioned I love San Francisco?

We spent the next night in Eureka, CA.  It wasn’t on our original itinerary, but I really wanted to go through the Redwood Forest during the day.  It turns out Eureka is just north of the Avenue of the Giants, so we backtracked a bit and make the cruise up that way.

Oh.  My.

The last picture is actually tree roots.  Yeah.  These trees are massive!  It was really difficult to take pictures that actually capture the enormity and beauty of these trees.  It’s really something that has to be experienced as corny as that sounds.

We got our first view of the wide-open Pacific Ocean.  I got waaaaay too excited. 🙂

Somewhere in the middle of the Redwood Forest, we crossed into Oregon.  We stayed two nights in Oregon, but since it’s so close to where we live, and we were getting exhausted from the drives/visits, we didn’t cruise around much.

We did have a little Valentine’s celebration in our hotel in Eugene.  Delivery Italian with whoopie pies and cookies for dessert with sparkling pomegranate juice (SO good!) and a showing of Due Date on the Pay-per-view channel.  It was perfect. 🙂

Just after we drove through rainy Portland…

We arrived in Washington!  Eep!!

Soon I’ll have pictures of our place, but it’s been a whirlwind few days.  We got here on Tuesday, got our unit on Wednesday and got a puppy on Thursday.

Yep, that’s right.  We got a puppy.

Her name is Brigid, and they told us she’s a Rottweiler/Border Collie mix.  By the look of her, we’re thinking she’s actually a Rottweiler/Lab mix.  She was one of three in an “unwanted litter” (SPAY/NEUTER YOUR PETS, PEOPLE!).  She’s a sweetheart but very excited – basically your typical puppy.  Little J loves her but is a tiny bit jealous.  Whenever she comes to play with me, he starts to cry and attempts to climb in my lap.  Same with when she plays with J.

J flies out on Friday to meet his ship and learn the ropes while they’re on their way back to WA.  He’ll be gone until March 8, but I’m not overly upset about it.  It sucks that he’ll be gone so soon after we get here, but we knew the ship was at sea, and it was a possibility that he’d be going out to meet them.  Plus, it’s only eleven days.  That’s hardly anything after nine months.

About Nicole

My job titles include Mommy of (Almost) Two, Lifelong Learner and Stampin' Up! Demo Extraordinaire. My hobbies include papercrafting, sewing, geocaching, letterboxing and going on adventures. I currently live on NBK-Bangor in Washington State, and it's definitely a life experience!
This entry was posted in Style Your Space. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 642: Road Trip – California to Washington

  1. Trees says:

    Thanks for posting these photos and your tales of your journey – its really great. I can’t wait to visit very soon (well Decemeber but still I can’t wait)

Leave a Reply

