Day 697, Part II: Observations from the First Twelve Weeks

Shortly after arriving in Washington, we learned that we were expecting Baby #2.  By “shortly after”, I mean literally DAYS after we got here.  SURPRISE!  Unfortunately due to all the relocation chaos and paperwork, it took us quite a awhile to get to the doctor’s.  I haven’t yet been to an OB because I had to have an “established care visit” with the physician I would’ve seen, so they could then refer me to the Navy hospital, so THEY can refer me to an OB.  Ah, red tape.

Anyhow, we were fortunate that the physician I would’ve seen is a family care physician who happens to have an ultrasound machine in his office and was happy to check Baby out for us and make sure everything was moving along as expected (which it is!).

When I was pregnant with Little J, I had some morning sickness, but I was able to pretty much knock it out with B-6 and Unisom.  Unfortunately this time that wasn’t the case.  While I’ve moved past the “I can’t breathe without getting sick” stage, I still don’t feel nearly as good as I want to, and my energy levels are zero.  BUT I’m not getting sick anymore, so that’s a huge plus.

I’ve also had “growing pains” the past few weeks, which I didn’t have with Little J.  Apparently these are common with second, third, etc. pregnancies, which doesn’t make much sense to me.  You’d think that your body would be in pain when the muscles and such are stretching in ways they haven’t before, NOT in ways they’ve already stretched in the past.

Most recently I’ve developed a sudden intolerance to milk and ice cream.  Yes.  I had been avoiding milk, but ice cream has always been my go-to comfort food when I’m sick.  When I was really sick, it was one of the few things I could handle, and now in the past week or two, it’s a no-go.  I looked it up and apparently sudden lactose intolerance is not uncommon in pregnacy.  Perfect.

I am endlessly excited about another little person running around, and it’s definitely something for Little J and I to look forward to while J is at sea.  We already have tentative names, and I can’t wait to find out whether we’ll be having a girl or another boy. 

😀

About Nicole

My job titles include Mommy of (Almost) Two, Lifelong Learner and Stampin' Up! Demo Extraordinaire. My hobbies include papercrafting, sewing, geocaching, letterboxing and going on adventures. I currently live on NBK-Bangor in Washington State, and it's definitely a life experience!
This entry was posted in Style Your Space. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

