Day 858: Red Friday, v.7

This week I attended my first FRG meeting.  The FRG (Family Readiness Group) is a volunteer group that helps support the families of a particular unit (or whatever the Navy equivalent is) before, during and after deployments.  They have monthly meetings, parties, fundraisers, all sorts of fun stuff.

I wasn’t positive what to expect from the meeting, and to be honest, I was a little nervous.  Why, I have no idea.  We started out with the Pledge of Allegiance, which gave me an “Army Wives” moment, but other than that, it was pretty low-key, and all I had to do was listen.  They answered questions from the previous meeting, talked about fundraising ideas and had speakers from both COMPASS, a Navy 101 course for spouses that I’m hoping to take in November, and Fleet Family & Readiness.

The FFR is pretty awesome, too.  They offer information on things to do around the area and classes on everything from financial management to improving your resume.  They also have fitness classes through the gyms on base and offer swimming lessons for anyone from preschoolers to adults.  I’m hoping to get Little J into swimming lessons this winter!

On another note, Sunday will be two months down!  Whoo!  I still feel like this deployment is dragging, but I’m starting to think it won’t be as depressingly long as I’ve been anticipating.  At the FRG meeting, they mentioned the halfway party, and J has mentioned that on the ship they’re already working on logistics for homecoming.  I’ve decided to put my energy into planning vacations for when J gets home.  We may not be able to go on any of them, but it gives me something fun to plan, and planning is one of my favorite things to do.  I know, it’s weird…

About Nicole

My job titles include Mommy of (Almost) Two, Lifelong Learner and Stampin' Up! Demo Extraordinaire. My hobbies include papercrafting, sewing, geocaching, letterboxing and going on adventures. I currently live on NBK-Bangor in Washington State, and it's definitely a life experience!
This entry was posted in MiliLife, Red Friday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

